Hunter’s Riesling Wins Rose Bowl for Third Time

Hunter’s Wines have again won the Rose Bowl at the Royal Easter Show Wine Awards 2017
for Riesling.

The 2017 Rose Bowl Award has been awarded to Hunter’s Marlborough Riesling 2016, 2010, and 2006 at the Royal Easter Show Wine Awards Gala Dinner last Friday night. Presented by Minister of Finance Hon Steven Joyce, the dedicated annual award is to identify and reward wines that have evidenced a capacity to develop grace and complexity over time.

Hunter’s Winemaker, James Macdonald, was present at the black tie event to collect the trophy and commented on the achievement, “Riesling has always been seen as a strength of Hunter’s and to be recognised by the Rose Bowl Trophy once more is great. What’s more pleasing as a winemaker is the link to cellaring potential, we know that Riesling can age very well. We continue to strive to produce great Rieslings.”

Last year Jane Hunter received the Wolf Blass AM Award in Australia recognising Hunter’s contribution to Riesling. Naturally, Jane was excited by the news of the Rose Bowl saying, “I’m always humbled by these accolades but of coursed thrilled too. We pride ourselves on producing wines with drinkability now and with cellaring potential. The Rose Bowl is an achievement we will cherish, especially with Riesling, it is an exciting variety with great versatility.”

Hunter’s also won the Rose Bowl in 2011 for Riesling 2010, 2007, and 2004 vintages, and also in 2013 for 2012, 2009 and 2006 vintages.

Download the full press release here.

Image: uploads/2017_04/Easter_Show_Wine_Awards_2017_2.jpg

other news articles.